Awards, Honours and Recognitions Received (2021-22)

Faculty and other Staff

Patent Awarded

Raghukumar P (**Additional Professor & Head, Radiation Physics**): for the invention of the 'Modified spacer balloon device' in collaboration with HLL Lifecare Ltd. (Indian Patent No. 379287 dated 13.10.2021, Application No. 584/CHE/2011).

Awards/Honours/Fellowships

Anoop TM (Associate Professor, Medical Oncology): completed the Trialect Fellowship in Metanalysis and Biostatistics. University of Foggia, Italy/Online. (May 2021–January 2022).

Jayasree K (**Professor & Head, Pathology**): Founding President of Indian Association of Musculoskeletal Pathologists (2021).

Jiju JS (**Lab. Technician Sel.Gr., Pathology**): awarded PhD by the Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research, Chennai for the thesis, 'Somatic DNA damages in modifiable and non-modifiable risk factors in coronary artery disease'. (December 2021).

Priyakumari T (**Professor & Head, Paediatric Oncology**): received the Best Teacher award for 2021 (Medical stream) of Kerala University of Health Sciences.

Rachel Cherian Koshy (Professor & Head, Anaesthesiology): nominated as a member of the Specialist Board of Onco Anaesthesia by the National Board of Examinations, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt. of India.

Sarin B (**Assistant Professor, Radiation Physics**): received first prize for best oral paper presentation, 'Montecarlo simulation of lung SBRT plans using PRIMO Monte Carlo Code and its validation against Acuros® XB', at the Conference on Radiation in Health Care (CRHC 2021) conducted by the Department of Radiological Physics, SMS Medical College and Hospitals, Jaipur on 26-27 April 2021.

Shaiju VS (**Assistant Professor, Radiation Physics**): awarded PhD by the Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research, Chennai for the thesis, 'Design and fabrication of a head phantom for the dosimetric evaluation of radiotherapy treatment plans'. (October 2021).

Sudha P (**Additional Professor & Head, Palliative Medicine**): awarded Fellowship in Regional Anaesthesia & Pain management by the Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists.

Trainees

Archana MG (Research Scholar, Cancer Research):

- received Second Prize for the best oral presentation, 'Combinatorial delivery of EGFR siRNA and doxorubicin: a dual-targeting in vivo therapeutic approach for lung tumour management', at the 3rd National Biomedical Research Competition (NBRCOM 2021), Society of Young Biomedical Scientists, India, held on 06-10 December 2021.
- received Second Prize for the best oral presentation, 'Bio-fabricated metallic nanosystem conjugated with siRNA: a promising gene delivery system for tumour management', at the SymBiot-Celebrating Biotech: International Biotechnology Conclave, College of Agriculture, Thiruvananthapuram, 14–15 December 2021.

Asha Lekshmi (Post-doctoral fellow, Cancer Research): received first prize in best paper presentation (Scientist category) for the paper, 'Immunohistochemical profiling of p53 mutation status: a propitious approach for TNBC prognostication', at the 34th Kerala Science Congress, Thiruvananthapuram, 10-12 February 2022.

Joseph Vimal (**Research Scholar, Cancer Research**): received the best paper award in disease biology and bioinformatics at the International Conference on Advanced Biology 2022, organised by the Inter-University Centre for Evolutionary and Integrative Biology, University of Kerala. (February 2022).

Preethi G. Nath (Research Scholar, Cancer Research): was awarded PhD in Biotechnology by the University of Kerala for the thesis, 'Prognostic significance of cytogenetic and molecular studies in paediatric acute leukaemia patients'. (January 2022).

Preethi GU (**Research Scholar, Cancer Research**): was awarded PhD by the University of Kerala for the thesis, 'Chemotherapeutics loaded polysaccharide scaffold as a novel tool to fight against cancer'. (June 2021).

Shiji R (**Research Scholar, Cancer Research**): was awarded PhD by the University of Kerala for the thesis, 'Evaluation of *Punica granatum* fruit rind polysaccharide nano-constructs for theranostic applications in cancer'. (December 2021).

Unnikrishnan BS (Research Scholar, Cancer Research):

- awarded PhD by the University of Kerala for the thesis, 'Application of polysaccharide metal nanoconjugates in cancer detection and therapy'. (August 2021).
- received Dr. Divya Ravindran Memorial Award 2020 for the best research paper of the 2020-2021 academic year: 'Unnikrishnan BS, Anitha Sen, Preethi GU, Joseph MM, Maya S, R. Shiji, Anusree KS, Sreelekha TT. Folic acid-appended galactoxyloglucan-

capped iron oxide nanoparticles as a biocompatible nanotheranostic agent for tumour-targeted delivery of doxorubicin. International Journal of Biological Macromolecules, 168,130-142, 2021'. (awarded on 16th October 2021).

Sd/-DIRECTOR